Five (more) Favorite Freezer to Crock-pot Meals

Alright folks! I have five more favorite freezer-to-crockpot recipes to share. Since we’re trying lots of them out, you might as well save yourself the trouble of the bland & boring ones!

If you want to see my other post of favorite freezer-to-crockpot recipes, check them out here!

20140326-154314.jpg

This time around, I’ve got several that were not put out there as freezer-to-crockpot meals, (some not even crock pot meals!) but I’ve made some adjustments and they have worked great!!!

1. Indonesian Peanut Chicken – my Betty Crocker Cookbook

A great peanut sauce that is just a little bit spicy. It was an instant favorite with the kids. It was not written with freezer to crock-pot cooking in mind, but it was just fine!

3 lbs. broiler/fryer chicken pieces, skin removed (I didn’t bother removing the skin)

¾ tsp. salt

½ t. pepper

1 med. Onion

1/3 c. peanut butter

¼ c. chili sauce

½ tsp. ground red pepper (cayenne) – less to taste…(I only did a little shake because of the kids. I recall that this is pretty spicy with the full amount)

1/3 c. water

¼ c. chopped red pepper

¼ c. chopped salted peanuts

Combine all ingredients except chicken, red pepper & salted peanuts. Mix in freezer bag to make a sauce. Toss in chicken. Freeze. Cook in slow cooker on low for 6 hrs. until chicken is no longer pink. Serve chicken pieces over rice (or quinoa?) and top with sauce, red peppers and peanuts.

2. Sweet Chili Chicken Bowls – Budget Bytes

Made this a few weeks ago. Since we did it at a friend’s freezer cooking night, we only made one batch, but as soon as I tasted it I wished we had multiples. It’s a little sweet, a little spicy. The kids liked it! On this one I was a little shocked about that! They usually don’t like the dishes that have everything mixed together. Or at least it takes some talking up and pointing out the ingredients that they know they like. Well, I guess we did mention the pineapple and the chicken and the beans before they dug in. But since it’s sweet…it was a hit.

20140226-114250.jpg

3. Soy Ginger Chicken & Rice – Martha Stewart
This is a favorite of ours from before the freezer cooking days. You really need not make any adjustments. Just put everything in a freezer bag and freeze until you’re ready to cook it! My kids devoured this. It’s not spicy, they love having chicken on the bone. 🙂 Add extra carrots or serve with a side salad.

4. Sweet Potato Soup – (Source: My mom. No idea where she got it.)
Totally a repeat from the meatless meals, but totally worth mentioning again. This soup is delish! And our kiddos will eat most of the veggies. Since there are lots to choose from, they might not eat some of them, but they can pick their favorites. This recipe can be split evenly between two freezer bags for two different meals.

2 Tbs.. butter

1 lg. Onion, chopped

3 med. Sweet Potatoes, peeled & chopped

3. med. Zucchini, chopped

1 bunch broccoli, chopped

2 medium potatoes – peeled & shredded

2 quarts chicken broth

1 tsp. celery seed

1-2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1-2 tsp. cumin

2 Cups light cream (for serving)

Combine everything except the cream in a freezer bag (this will probably have to be split into two bags since it makes enough to serve 16). Cook in the slow cooker on low for 6. Add cream at the end and serve with fresh bread.

5. Sausage & Lentil Soup – FabulesslyFrugal.com

I love me some lentils! Throw in some sausage for extra savory flavor, and you’ve got a winner in my book! I think soups are a great way to bring down your food budget. Add extra broth, serve with some crusty bread and you can really save some money! You don’t need a lot of meat (you can often cut down by half) of what is called for if you’re just going for the flavor. Ham bones work great for this too! But if you add more water or broth, make sure you taste test and add in more seasoning/salt/bullion too. Because seriously, we don’t want to just be making “Hot Ham Water.

This particular soup has a great Italian flavor. And we cooked up some macaroni noodles to serve it over.

IMPORTANT NOTE: I did not cook this before freezing. I did brown the sausage, but everything else went into a freezer bag and I cooked in the crock-pot on the day I wanted to eat it!


Five Favorites link-up is hosted by Hallie at MoxieWife. Check out more Five Favorites here!

You can follow my Pinterest Board of Crock-Pot Meals. This is where I pin the things I’d be interested in trying. If we loved it, you’ll here about it here on my blog!

Do you have any favorites to share? Or success stories with cooking “freezer to crock-pot” meals? Have you tried doing a cooking club? I’d love to hear about it!

2 comments

  1. Oh my gosh, you’re my food hero. I love freezers. And crockpots.

    1. They are seriously saving my life right now.

Leave a Reply

