{7QT} Vol. 5 – Catholic Crafts, Great Literature, Awesome Blogs & a Project Frogged

Linking up with Jennifer Fulwiler at Conversion Diary. Check out more quick takes here!

1. This article. Pope Francis comments on the sins of the media. Don’t hold back, Papa.

2. Working on one of these rosary boards from Catholic Icing with the kids. So far, perfectionist mommy has let them do very little. We are waiting to finish until we can get a bigger board (the one we have wasn’t quite big enough for the good art of the Mysteries. We had a smaller version of them, but they are not beautiful enough. And as Michael says, if we’re going to take the time, lets make it beautiful. Smart guy. I can’t wait to show you when we’re done!

And by the way, that Catholic Icing blog is awesome! All of my favorite liturgical crafts/ideas come from there. Other projects of hers I want to try: Rosary hanger, Crown of Thorns, Stations of the Cross Eggs.

3. ThredUP. Everyone is talking about this website. Like a nice consignment store on-line. I’m still trying to get up the courage to order clothes for myself on-line. But my favorite jeans are almost dead (getting pretty shabby in the knees!) and they have my favorite brand there. And there’s no way I could buy them new anymore! When you shop, they’ll give you $10 to spend your first time. After browsing I’m pretty sure you could get a couple of skirts with that!

4. Something crafty: If you’re an experienced knitter, crocheter, weaver…(am I leaving any fiber people out?) you probably know about ravelry. It’s been around for a while. I joined back in 2007 when I was expecting my first baby, Nicolette. It’s a social network for “fiber people” where you can share pictures of your projects, keep notes on which yarns you have in your stash, or keep track of all your needles, hooks, and other notions. You can also browse through TONS of patterns (often free or available for a nominal price from etsy.com). I absolutely love this site, and it is now my go-to for most projects. If you join (or are already part of the community), you can find me. My screen name is: marzipantz.

5. I love the defense of Fanny Price that Haley, over at Carrots for Michaelmas, gives. I have never actually read Mansfield Park, though I’ve seen two versions of the movie. It’s certainly moved up on my list now that I read this.

6. Currently reading: A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy O’Toole. This is my second attempt. It’s really entertaining and silly, but I have to admit I got sidetracked a few years ago when I started it. I can’t remember exactly why, but I had started reading something else mid-book, and didn’t come back to it for so long I had forgotten a lot about what I had read. (Does this happen to any of you? I’m realizing more and more since I’m married to someone with a really good memory and a very particular attention to detail, that my memory is not so good. I can watch the same movie over and over again and not get bored because I can easily forget most of it. And it’s the same with books. There are some books that I just come back to again and again because I remembered how much I loved them, but I have to read them again to discover why.) Anyway, too much time away in the middle of the book, and I couldn’t just start where I left off and get the same effect! So, I put it away for a bit, and now I have it out again, starting from the beginning.

A little story about this book: one of my favorite authors, Walker Percy, was instrumental in this books publication. The author, O’Toole, had died (suicide?) and his mother had made it her mission to get the book published. So she contacted Walker Percy and kept asking if he would please read it. He finally did, I think it was so that she would finally leave him alone, and was so pleased with it that he recommended it for publication. And if Percy liked it and my husband liked it, it must be good.

7. I know everyone has been talking about a Sister named Cristina on the Italian The Voice. When I first watched the video I thought people’s reactions were a little ignorant: a sister can sing? But, I think what they’re really surprised by is her coming out into the world, engaging the culture, and sharing her gift! Here is a great piece that describes really well what seems to be going on in the heart of one of the judges, J-Ax. Enjoy! I love Kathryn’s blog. She has so many great insights on movies, music, books, etc. and expresses them perfectly. Other great things to look at on her blog: a defense of Breaking Bad, reasons to love Mumford & Sons, and a fun discussion on Eustace Scrubb & Confession.

Oh, and in honor of my blog name, I just had to share this.

Here’s a project I started:

20140328-094149.jpg
And here it is just after frogging it. :-/ I misread some of the instructions. And on of the things I have not been able to learn from all my book learnin’ of knitting is how to not scrap the whole thing when I mess it up. I know how to remove stitches by unknitting, but removing needles & ripping out multiple rows & somehow getting needles back in without losing any stitches? nope. So, I frogged it.

20140328-095333.jpg
It’s nice to be knitting again. I’ve been doing a lot of crochet lately.

One comment

  1. Thanks for the link love, Marcy!

Leave a Reply

