My 2015 Reading List

IMG_6158.PNG

I love book lists.
Last year I watched a lot of TV (Netflix, actually). I watched a lot of great shows/movies with Michael. But I want to be more intentional this year. I only read three books last year (if you count Kristen Lavransdatter as only one), and I feel like my usual bookish self was just not satisfied with that.

I’ll blame part of that on my need to just escape (had a lot of worries the first half of last year), and my need to get things done (I can “watch” TV and “do” something else at the same time). Well, I still have things to worry about, and I still have lots to do, but I am cutting out some of the empty telly time in favor of books.

My inspiration for this is Haley at Carrots for Michaelmas. (I’m shamelessly obsessed with her lovely blog.) On my list I have fiction and non-fiction. I also joined a book club, so I know I’ll be getting a good deal of fiction in that way. Here we go!

Book club: We get to take turns picking books. So I don’t know what’s coming up, but I plan to choose The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. Michael has read it and loved it. I’ve seen it come up on some great book lists, the library has a whole bunch of copies, and it’s something I already wanted to read. Meets my criteria!

January:

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd (book club)
A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole (finish this one!)
Yell Less, Love More by Sheila McCraith

February:

(book club selection?)
To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee (can you believe I’ve never read it before?)
Eat That Frog by Brian Tracy (procrastination is a huge problem for me, and this book is an antidote. I’ve gotten half-way through before, but I would like to finish it.)

March: 

(book club pick?)
The Thanatos Syndrome by Walker Percy (Favorite author? Probably. I have read all of his other novels, so it’s just time. I did think about choosing this for book club and serving beignets….)
Saint Monica – The Power of a Mother’s Love by Giovanni Falbo

April: 

(book club pick?)
In This House of Brede by Rumer Godden
A Mother’s Rule of Life by Holly Pierlot (this has been on my wish list for a while. In April because that’s when my birthday is and it’s not at the library, so birthday present to me!!)

May: 

(book club pick?)
In This House of Brede by Rumer Godden
Back to Virtue by Peter Kreeft

June: 

In This House of Brede by Rumer Godden
Back to Virtue by Peter Kreeft

July:

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
Jesus of Nazareth by Pope Benedict XVI

August: 

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky (
Jesus of Nazareth by Pope Benedict XVI

September:

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
Catherine of Sienna by Sigrid Undset

October: 

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
Gunnar’s Daughter by Sigrid Undset
Hands Free Mama: A Guide to Putting Down the Phone, Burning the To-Do List, and Letting Go of Perfection to Grasp What Really Matters by Rachel Macy Stafford (I’ll need this around now!)

November:
Gunnar’s Daughter by Sigrid Undset
Come Be My Light by Mother Theresa (excerpts from her journals)

December: 

The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham (re-read – it is SO good!)
Come Be My Light by Mother Theresa

So there’s my list. A little ambitious, but I’m hoping that being intentional and making a list will help me keep it up! I fully expect to have to push some things into 2016 because Dostoevsy! I also fully expect to change my mind about some of my picks as I go along.

So, book lovers, what is on your list? What will you be reading this year? What should be on my list and isn’t?

IMG_6158.PNG

One comment

  1. Sharon · · Reply

    Oooh I Capture the Castle and Elegance of the Hedgehog are both WINNERS!
    Check and see if your library does audiobooks – mine has a handy app for audio and e-books (Overdrive). Then you can read and do things at the same time! Might be especially good for Doestoevsky…

Leave a Reply

