My One Word & Saint for 2015

myoneword

I’m choosing a theme for the year, again. I’m not sure, though if it’s the best way for me to make my goals/resolutions for the new year. See, as I was scrutinizing myself and my life, I came up with a theme: Balance. I need balance in my life or I’m not going to survive! I need to find balance between work, homeschooling, housework, cultivating my relationship with my husband, caring for my kids, pursuing my own hobbies (reading, knitting, crafting), and rest if I’m going to survive!

IMG_6131.PNG

So I decided that would be my theme this year. I suppose the idea is that by the end of 2015 I’ll have found balance, right? But then, out of curiosity (and because I had completely forgotten), I looked up what my theme for last year was: “Balance.” Yep. Great job there, Marcy! So, let’s reset and try again. I’m going to stick with it, though. I was tempted to do something else, but clearly I need it, so Balance it will be. 🙂 And again, that means a schedule.

IMG_6148.PNG

I like to convince myself that because I’m a night owl, I should let myself keep just getting up when the kids get up and staying up really late working on whatever work I’m working on. But here’s the thing….After the kids go to bed, I don’t feel like doing anything, except maybe watching a movie while knitting or reading a book (still nice things to do, but it doesn’t help me check things off my lists!).

So in 2015, I am going to make a greater effort to wake up when Michael gets up to get ready for work. I just know that this little thing will help me get a jump on my day. Because my kids do usually sleep until a little after he’s left, and that would give me some time in the morning to make myself ready. With that in mind, I will have to set myself a reasonable bed-time so that I’m not a sleep-deprived mess before I even get started.

And that leads me to the second thing. I’m going to make a greater effort to have some quiet time with God every day. At least time to make a focused turning over my worries to Him. I mull things over all day every day, and when I’m feeling particularly overwhelmed I sigh a “Jesus, I trust in You.” But I want to make more of an effort to spend time in prayer.

I think this will lead me to the third thing, which is to have a more happy, healthy me and less yelling and frustration. I do have a yelling problem. The moment I hear myself, I am so ashamed and embarrassed. On that note, I checked Yell Less, Love More by Sheila McCraith, creator of The Orange Rhino Challenge, out from the library. I don’t know a lot about the book, but I have heard some good reviews so I am going to give it a shot.

Last year, I read all of three books (unless you’re counting Kristen Lavransdatter as three, and that would make my total 5). Kristen LavransdatterThe Sinner’s Guide to Natural Family Planningand Without Roots.  This year, I’m going to set some more ambitious reading goals. And I joined a book club!

Here’s hoping (and praying!!!) that 2015 is more balanced than 2014.

My Saint for 2015: Saint Ignatius of Antioch

Ignatius_of_Antioch

I used the Saint Generator again to help me pick a saint to get to know this year.

Patron saint of throat diseases.

He died in the Colosseum and is usually depicted as being attacked by lions. He died in the year 108, and was third in succession after St. Peter and St. Evodius. One historian suggests that St. Peter himself appointed Ignatius as the Bishop of Antioch.

He was one of the first recorded to defend the practice of worshiping on the Lords Day and not the Sabbath. His writings also contain explanations of the Eucharist, the role of Bishops, and was possibly the first to use the term “Catholic.”

I will try to read some of his epistles during the year. Try. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

