Five Favorites: Silly Things I Like A LOT

Hi ya’ll! It’s been a while since I’ve done Five Favorites. And you know what? It has a new host. A blogger I had heard about but had never made my way over to before. And guess what? She is so funny. I love her. She does hilarious stick figure stories, and her sarcasm is always spot-on. So, you can head over to visit Heather at Mama Knows, Honeychild for more Five Favorites. Have fun!!!

So, here are some of my favorite silly things.

1

“Hangry.”

Yeah. I just learned this word, like, last night. And it’s making me laugh so hard that I’m crying. Because if I were to pick one word to describe Alasdair, it would be hangry. Yup. That’s him. All. the. time.

Hangry

I’m seriously contemplating making some tea towels like this…or maybe just buying this one.

2

The “boob” baby hats.

Hey! What are you looking at? Take a picture it will last longer!

booby hat

Yup. I like those. I probably wouldn’t ever put one on my kid, but they sure do make me laugh. And you know, for those moments when someone just can’t tell for sure if they saw a boob when you were nursing your baby in public, well, now they know! Or at least they think they do?

Isn’t this just the perfect way to shock everyone into submission about nursing in public? More on that in a forthcoming post.

3

Stephen Colbert. The real one. And the character.

Isn’t he just adorable?

Here is a YouTube Link to his Commencement Speech at Northwestern University (it’s 20 minutes, but awesome).

I am still looking for links to his defense of the existence of God, or the time that he ended his show with a poetic tribute to T.S. Eliot. I love that he teaches Sunday School at his church. I love his prank, and antics, and I would definitely vote for him if he really ran for any office.

4

Arrested Development.

It’s a bit much for some. But the humor is, well, absolutely quirky and full of puns (my dad’s sense of humor which I inherited).

I could watch the series over and over and still find new things to laugh at. But Season 4 (available only on Netflix) was too weird. Too different from the original. It was just too much and not worth the time. 😦 Sorry guys. I just wasn’t feelin’ it.

I absolutely love it when I find a fellow fan of Arrested Development and we can do the chicken calls or discuss the best way to make hot ham water.

5

Pinterest vs. Reality humor.

I love to laugh. Ha ha ha! Loud and long and clear! I love to laugh! (Mary Poppins)

Ok, fo’ realz. Go to pinterest and do a search of “Pinterest vs. Reality.”

You will find some gems like this:

20140828-085905.jpg

20140828-090122.jpg
So many silly things! A search for this or just “hipster” can keep me giggling for hours.

So there you have it. In all honesty, I wanted my husband to be at the top of this list, but I also wanted to list things you can all enjoy. (You’ll be going out and buying a booby hat, won’t you?)

Besides, so much of his silliness is one of those, “you had to be there to understand” kind of things.

Often I tell him that he missed a successful career in stand-up comedy. He tells me he basically is already doing stand-up (he’s a high school teacher). But he really is the silliest part of my life and I like him a whole lot.

Leave a comment