5 Favorites – Summer Styles (a day late)

Goodness gracious. I have so many blog posts percolating! But in the meantime, for a quick fun thing, I just had to share some quick fun favorite styles for summer. Five Favorites being hosted this week by Katie at The Rhodes Log. Go there to check out more “Five Favorites!”

1. You may have already seen me sporting them…My favorite Royal Blue heels. They add a fun pop to any outfit. I throw them on with jeans, shorts, skirts, whatever. They are magical.

Easter  mama and kids

 

(Me in the heels and the nursing scarf – see no. 2.)

2. The Nursing Scarf.

DIY Nursing Scarf

 

Not my picture, but I linked to the Pin. Seen them on Pinterest? I had. I kept gazing in awe and wishing I had a sewing machine to make this cool idea a reality. ย (really, any nice, wide infinity scarf should work.) Then my mama tried one out, and since then she has added another 5 to my collection. The beauty of them is that you are covered front AND back. And that’s a big deal during the summer when you’re not wearing all kinds of layers to keep people from spying your back fat when you lift your shirt to nurse. I know some ladies have trouble covering their infants when nursing. Nice thing about the scarves is that they can provide a little extra coverage without covering baby to nurse.

 

3. One-piece swim suits. I have not had much of a desire to wear bikinis, but in my mind, one-piece suits were just plain old. And tankinis were the cool new way to go. Well, I’m so done with that ever since I found some cute one-piece suits on ThredUP!ย Lands end one-piece

Lands end one-piece

Here’s a cute one from Land’s End – you don’t have wobbly bits hanging out AND you look stylish. Nothing mom-ish about it. Right? What’s not to love?

4. Silver Jeans – Aiko Jeans

silver jeans  aiko
Ok – Silver Jeans are pretty much ah-mazing. In my very limited experience with higher-end jeans (typically only spend $20-$25 on a pair…) I see why you may want to spend more. Shortly before Michael and I were married (over 7 years ago now!), I spotted a buy one get one free sale of Silver Jeans at one of the department stores. Having heard my sister rave about Silvers, I went ahead and bought four pairs. Two for her, two for me. I bought a pair that fit me, and a pair a little smaller (thinking maybe just maybe?). Why do I do that kind of thing. It never works out. Anyway, that pair I bought, that I always refer to as my “pre-wedding jeans” have been my measure of reaching that pre-wedding level of fitness/thinness. And after each baby, I’ve gotten back down to my pre-wedding jeans before getting knocked up again. ๐Ÿ™‚ I kept thinking, “Wow! These jeans have lasted me 8 years!” granted, that’s 8 years minus all the days that I couldn’t wear them because of a protruding baby belly… but still! And they just make me look good. Possibly why I always get knocked up shortly after fitting back into them. Anyway, I’ve been spying a new pair since mine just sprouted some lovely holes in the knees. Aiko style is built for me. But on their website you can select your body type and they’ll tell you which styles to shop to accommodate your shape.

5. Super Favorite for this summer – Thirty-One Retro Metro Fold-over in Navy Wave – and with a fun monogram of course! I got an orange M on mine. Let me know if you’re looking for a consultant.

It looks so cute and Nautical. Goes with so much. Fits so much for your summer out and about adventures…completely perfect in every way!

retro metro foldover

8 comments

  1. I really need to go shopping for clothes. You cracked me up that you get pregnant every time you can finally fit your jeans!!! That’s my life, too! The nursing scarf looks like a great idea. I will need to check that out. I am always worried about my muffin top getting exposed….probably more than exposing anything else when I nurse! haha

    1. Lol! Yes, more than anything else! Ha! Try ThredUP! I just learned the hard way that you only get free shipping on your returns if you ordered via the mobile app…:-( but ideally you can order stuff, try on & only keep what you like.

      1. Thank you, I will check them out! I just ordered 12 sundresses from Target.com and only kept 2. I just returned the rest easily at Target, and it saved me from trying on clothes with kids in tow!!!

  2. Hahaha. Baby making Silvers…so funny.

    I have bought one expensive-ish pair of jeans ever, and I LOVED them and wore them 6 days a week for two years and then they died. I should jump in again. But then again I’m only 6 mo postpartum, so maybe I should hold off for a couple months ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. p.s. your children are SO beautiful.

    1. Thank you! And yes, maybe a few more months couldn’t hurt. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Great heels and such a lovely picture of you and your children!

    I love the name of your blog. Frogging and dropping stitches are what I do every time I get distracted when I knit.

    1. Thank you! It’s so rare that I actually make it into a picture with them since I’m usually taking the pictures.

Leave a Reply

