Our Lady of Guadalupe Doll

During Advent, I got the idea to make my goddaughter a doll. And then I got the idea to style her like a simple Our Lady of Guadalupe.

20140313-211602.jpg

I only first heard this story a few years ago, shortly after becoming Catholic, when I was teaching American history to some ninth grade home school students.

It is an amazing story, and i am overwhelmed at the humility of Juan Diego and the sheer beauty in the imagery of Mary that we received because of this miracle.

This year we read Tomie DePaola’s The Lady of Guadalupe to the children. If you have it at your library, check it out. I believe it is out of print, so finding your own copy may be more difficult. But the story was very accessible and beautifully illustrated.

Well, I set about making my first amigurumi doll (tightly crocheted in the round). And here is how it went:

20140313-215931.jpg

 

After putting the doll together, I made a little black “wig cap” and sewed it on. This was much easier to make than I would have thought!

20140313-215940.jpg

 

Then I followed a pattern for a tank top for the doll, but just kept going on the bottom of the tank, increasing a little to create a cute dress.

20140313-215950.jpg

 

Then of course she needed a gold edged mantle. Now that I’m thinking of it, I should have stitched gold stars all over it! Anyway, it it attached to the top of her head with a button. And the black belt, just like OLoG wears.

20140313-215958.jpg

 

I think she likes it!

Here’s a beautiful prayer I found when I was preparing all of this for my goddaughter:

Our Lady of Guadalupe, mystical rose, make intercession for the Holy Church, protect the Sovereign Pontiff, help all those who invoke thee in their necessities, and since thou art the ever Virgin Mary and Mother of God, obtain for us from thy most holy Son the grace of keeping our faith, sweet hope in the midst of the bitterness of life, burning charity and the precious gift of final perseverance. Amen.

6 comments

  1. You are so crafty! I am barely able to print out a picture for my kids to color—stickers are a bonus. You should sell those dolls. Very, very cute!

    1. I have thought about it. I’m just not sure if I could make it worth my time. But maybe!

  2. Love your doll such a lovely prayer

Leave a Reply

